Has this ever happened to you?

Maybe it will be done for next Christmas

Imagine It’s Finished.   Have you ever said that?  Or rather, how often do you say it?  I have a little….okay, I’ll admit it:  I have several mini quilts that are pieced and basted, but not quilted.  But I was so proud of my efforts, I took them to show the ladies at my church’s quilting group anyway.  They are such sweet ladies.  So encouraging.  Totally willing to overlook the unfinished-ness of my quilts.  They even listened politely to my story.  About how I planned to spend the day in my sewing room working on a Civil War dress for someone else, but had to move the bag of fabric scraps Mrs. K had given me and then made the mistake of looking into the bag.  Wow!  Look at this great fabric!  Hey, these pieces seem to go together.  What’s that I hear?  Are they asking me to do something creative with them?  I’m pretty sure that’s it.  So I started playing and next thing I knew, I had a little quilt top pieced together and Mr. Clark was wondering what I was planning for dinner.  The whole day was gone and the dress didn’t so much as get touched.  So there I was a few days later, sitting around the table with these wonderful women, saying, “See what I did?  Of course, you’ll have to imagine it’s finished”.   Sadly, my friend is still waiting for her dress.

About Imagine It's Finished

Howdy! I am a 50-something wife and mother with two daughters and two sons-in-law. And I love, love, love to sew. I quilt and especially like to hand piece. I prefer to hand quilt, too. Mr. Clark and I are Civil War reenactors, so I make all my own clothes, even my corset and hoops! We live in a small town in northern Arizona with our dog, two cats and eight chickens. I'm a little ADD with a touch of OCD and a rather addictive streak. Which means I start a project, but then I get distracted and start another project, and then get bored and start another project.... One day I realized that most of the blogs I read are by women who finish everything they start. But I suspect there are lots of women just like me. This is my journey.
This entry was posted in UFOs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Has this ever happened to you?

  1. Elaine Ketchum says:

    But they are such beautiful UFO’s and you are so creative, you know my fabric closet well there are lots and lots of UFO’s hiding in there. Does Mrs K need to hold off on the scraps???

Leave a Reply

