New T-shirt Only Better

I realized after posting the 12 UFOs with pictures and everything that those were only the things I’ve actually, to one degree or another, started.  It did not even begin to approach the projects for which I have a pattern and fabric, but have no tangible evidence of turning into anything . . . um, usable.  And, sadly, I left off a quilt I started many years ago and is very neatly stored in the itty-bitty closet in my very-small-and-compact sewing room, which I didn’t even want to mention as I am rather ashamed of myself for letting it go to “LIP” (the Land of Ignored Projects).

So, instead of getting started on any of those projects, Saturday I spent the better part of the morning on the computer.  Pinterest to be exact.  I strongly recommend Pinterest.  Check it out right after you finish this.  I even made a link to it so it’ll be really easy to do.  Just wait til the end.  Okay.  Where was I?  Oh yeah.  Anyway.  While I was tootling around at Pinterest I found someone who made some really cute alterations to t-shirts.  You might want to check it out for yourself:  Tea Rose Home.  So it got me to thinking that I should try something like that.  But seeing as it’s a 30 minute drive to Walmart, I didn’t want to go get a new shirt.  And I really want to try this.  Today.  I’m not sure I can wait to just happen upon a fabulously good deal on T shirts like she did.

And then I remembered.  I do in fact have a new T shirt that needs to be altered.  I have to alter most of the unisex T shirts I get because the neck is too tight and I have a problem with things being too snug around my neck.  I also have to shorten them.

This is my Harkins Movie T shirt that will get me a “free” bag of popcorn when I wear it next time we go to the movies.  It is rather boring.  Looks like everyone elses.   I’m wanting to see War Horse and can hardly wait for my nice warm bag of buttery popcorn.

You can see the pin at the bottom marking where I’m going to turn it up and sew a new hem in place.

Next I turned down the ribbing at the neck.  Then I sewed it using one of the stretch stitches on my sewing machine.  I don’t have a serger or anything fancy, but manage to get the job done just the same.  Because I’m going to add a ruffle, I want the neckline to have some stability.  So this time I let the ribbing act sort of like a facing.

Next I pressed the new hemline and sewed it with a stretch stitch also.   Then I cut away the leftover fabric.  This is what I used for the ruffle and flowers.

I used quilting tools to make the ruffle.  I cut open the loop from the bottom of the shirt.   Originally I thought I would make a double ruffle, so I cut one 1 1/4″ wide and another 3/4″ wide.   I cut the hem off right above the stitching.I made a gathering stitch down the center of the 1 1/4″ wide strip.  I placed a pin at the place on the neckline just to the side that I wanted to be the “center” of my decoration and another at the exact opposite side.  Then gathered the ruffle and pinned it in place.

Because I share my home with a couple of cats, I often have one or the other helping me with every project.  Often Jackson will sleep on the sewing table or sit and stare out the window.  Today, he was in a playful mood.  More than once I had to remove him altogether.Do you see the little stuffy in the canning jar behind his right ear?  It’s his fault.  Jackson loves to play with stuffies.  I even got him some of is very own.  However, this one in particular he could not leave alone.  I hid it all over my sewing room, but he would find it every time.  It has sentimental value and I wanted to keep it for myself.  So out of desperation, I put it in a jar and now I can see it and Jackson’s claws can’t get at it.

So, back to sewing.  I simply sewed the ruffle down the center, following the gathering seam.  Then I used the hem that I had cut off to make the flowers.  I don’t recall how long either piece was, maybe 10 inches or so.  I ran a gathering stitch around and just played with it.  I have never made a fabric flower before and don’t have any idea if I did it right or not.  I even made a little flower bud.

I hand sewed them in place where the ruffle overlapped.

So, now I’ll get my “free” warn buttery popcorn with a T shirt no one else in town has!  This project was fairly easy and actually kind of fun.  I’ll have to keep my eyes open for more shirts….

Happy New Year!

Mrs. Clark

 

 

About Imagine It's Finished

Howdy! I am a 50-something wife and mother with two daughters and two sons-in-law. And I love, love, love to sew. I quilt and especially like to hand piece. I prefer to hand quilt, too. Mr. Clark and I are Civil War reenactors, so I make all my own clothes, even my corset and hoops! We live in a small town in northern Arizona with our dog, two cats and eight chickens. I'm a little ADD with a touch of OCD and a rather addictive streak. Which means I start a project, but then I get distracted and start another project, and then get bored and start another project.... One day I realized that most of the blogs I read are by women who finish everything they start. But I suspect there are lots of women just like me. This is my journey.
This entry was posted in Previous UFOs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New T-shirt Only Better

  1. Elaine Ketchum says:

    You are so clever, the tee shirt looks awesome, are you taking orders?

Leave a Reply

