Procrastination Central

Have you ever noticed that once you set some project aside, it somehow becomes easy (convenient even) to keep setting it aside?  Putting IT at the bottom of the list….and keeping IT there.  Once I start avoiding some project/job/chore/hmmm, it seems to turn into some big, ugly monster that I just don’t see how I will ever be able to finish.  So, I do what I’m sure you never do, and continue to ignore IT.  I am almost ashamed to admit that there is precious little I cannot put on the back burner.  Exercise.  Dusting.  Planting the garden.   Washing the dishes.  Oh, I think about IT and tell myself that I’ll get to IT soon.  Right after I sit and rest a minute do this other (suddenly more important) thing.

At least that’s the reason I’m using to explain why I’ve waited until now to write this.  My last blog entry was sometime in February.  I could look up the exact day, but it’s not that important to me right now.  It all started with that nine-day trip to Pennsylvania.  One thing after another, and well lookie here, it’s the last day of April!  Now, part of the reason it has taken me so long to get back into the blog thing is that I took over 1200 pictures while in the Keystone State.  So far I’ve downloaded them all in the computer, but only processed the first day’s worth.  That’s another project I keep pushing to the side.  And I don’t want to think about doing it right now or my head may explode.  I rather doubt you want to see all 1836 pictures.  At least not today.  I know I said I took over 1200, but my friends took a few too and they gave me all their pictures.  So all together there are one thousand, eight hundred, thirty six.  Of which I will show you just a few:

First day in Pennsylvania

Despite not getting enough sleep, we hit the ground running our first day.  Of course, I went with two dear friends that, as the week progressed, I seriously began to wonder about.  May need to think about my choice in friends.  They seemed to enjoy taking pictures of me sleeping….when they weren’t laughing at me.   We first stopped at Miz Marion’s favorite dairy and got some yummy treats.  Petted the baby cows.  Took a cheesy picture or two.  Then we headed to Red Lion for the highlight of the entire trip: a private tour of the Family Heir-loom Weavers.  Our $5 donation entitled us to a 45-minute tour.  They pretty much kicked us out after 2 1/2 hours.  It was so incredible to see how they make fabric.  They make coverlets just like the ones from the 1800s!  (But, sadly, they will not backdate one.)   And you can see by the load in my arms that I had a little “accident” in their store.  That’s all I’ve got for this time.  I hope to say more about the trip.  It was fabulous!

And then I was home a total of two whole days before we went to the 150th Battle of Picacho Pass where we camped out, Civil War-style, for 4 days.

Our display of medical items, toys, quilts, laundry, etc.

Of course, we sleep very well.

Just so you know, I hand-pieced and quilted both the quilts on our bed.  The 16-patch is the very first quilt I ever made!

A few weeks later, an organization I’m a part of had a grand ball.  Since Mr. Clark doesn’t dance and I don’t have a ball gown, and Miz Marion had the bright idea, we went to the ball as the hired help.  Domestics.  Maids.

How may we assist you?

I had to borrow a black dress.  But I made our little headpieces and finally got to use this fancy white apron I’ve had for years and never worn.  My pockets were filled with needle and thread and pins. and scissors.  In any case, I think more fun was had out in the hall than in the ballroom.  But by the end of the night, I do believe my feet hurt just as much!

So that brings us to the end of March and that’s got to be enough for today.  Perhaps now that I’ve sort of gotten back to this, I won’t procrastinate quite so long for the next installment.

Happy Sewing!

Mrs. Clark

About Imagine It's Finished

Howdy! I am a 50-something wife and mother with two daughters and two sons-in-law. And I love, love, love to sew. I quilt and especially like to hand piece. I prefer to hand quilt, too. Mr. Clark and I are Civil War reenactors, so I make all my own clothes, even my corset and hoops! We live in a small town in northern Arizona with our dog, two cats and eight chickens. I'm a little ADD with a touch of OCD and a rather addictive streak. Which means I start a project, but then I get distracted and start another project, and then get bored and start another project.... One day I realized that most of the blogs I read are by women who finish everything they start. But I suspect there are lots of women just like me. This is my journey.
This entry was posted in Meandering. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Procrastination Central

  1. Thom says:

    I am happy to see that you are enjoying your life! Love, your big brother.

Leave a Reply

