I’m back!

Okay.  Here I am.  Geez.  I haven’t posted since May?  I can explain!  It all started when Mom and Dad showed up.  Okay, maybe it isn’t ALL their fault.  I can spread the blame around.  You’ll see.

The truth is, in May my parents did come to stay.  My dear Mom and Dad are unique.  Different.  Odd. er, unique.  Oh, I said that.   Way back in 1989 they sold their house.  MY childhood home.  Sold or gave away all their stuff.  And left town.  In a truck.  Pulling a 5th-wheel.   And they never looked back.  I moved to Arizona in 1990 and over the years they have visited us many times.  Once they stayed with us for a month while I recovered from major surgery.  We had a nice driveway to park their rig so they could stay in their own home which was comfortable for them and made it easy for us.  Sometimes they would spend the summer working someplace nice, like Colorado.  Then we would take trips to visit them.   We’ve had Thanksgiving with them a time or two sharing potluck in the RV park clubhouse along with all the other full-time RVers.  Before we got them a cell phone, relatives would call up and ask, “Do you know where your parents are?”  Sometimes we could tell them.  Sometimes all we knew was where they were two weeks ago.  It’s been a very interesting 23 years.

Mom and Dad

Several years ago Mom was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s.   It’s been a slow progression of the disease.  But the last few years it feels like it’s speeded up.  (I know sped is the right word, but speeded is more like how it feels.)  Mr. Clark and I have wanted them to move closer to us and stay put.  Thus, when we moved from The Big City to a rural town, we found a place with enough room for them to park and stay for extended periods of time.   Which they have done over the last four years.  This time they’ve been here since May.  I want very much to be able to help Dad take care of Mom and do what I can as often as I can.   And I’m trying very hard not to take what Mom says personally.  But it’s not easy.  She remembers the fun and adventure of traveling the country and wants to return to that.  Every day.  In her mind, I am influencing Dad and tricking him in staying here.  Therefore, I am currently enemy number one.  I miss my Mom.  I don’t know this lady who looks like her.   That, along with Dad’s health issues, I’ve got more than I can pray over most of the time.

On a much happier note.  Well, it’s a little sad at first.  But it gets better.   In March our sweet dog, Toby, died.  I came home from work one afternoon and he was curled up outside like he was asleep.   But he wasn’t.  He was a big, goofy, Gordon Setter.   We got him as an older dog and so only had him a few years.  I was really, really sad.  And still was a month later sitting around at lunch with some friends talking about our dogs.  When our friend said, “I have just the puppy for you!”  It was Easter Sunday.  I asked him if we could come see it that afternoon.  Mr. Clark said, “See it?!?  What are you talking about ‘see’ it?  You mean, can we come by and get it!”

Our first day with Dixie

All we knew was that it was a female Australian Shepherd.  And Mr. Clark was right.  She rode home in my lap.  It took me a little while to find her a name.  Her name is Dixie.  It’s been a very long time since we’d had a puppy in the house.  (And all the puppies we’ve ever had were the total and sole responsibility of the daughter it belonged to.)  Somehow we figured it out.  Isn’t she just too cute?

I am in the Daughters of the American Revolution.  Also called the DAR.  I am also a member of the United Daughters of the Confederacy.  The UDC.  And in May my UDC chapter voted me to be their President for the next two years.  Since I love the Civil War and study it as much as possible, I guess they thought I’d make a good president.  I agreed because the outgoing president said it really didn’t take much work and it was easy.  All I can say about that is:  She lied.

And I got more chickens.  Now I have 14.  One of them was hatched from our own eggs this summer and we’re afraid it’s a rooster.  We’ve been caring for my grand-doggie, Jager (a very cute miniature long-haired dachshund) since August.  And as of three weeks ago, our darling daughter #2 and hubby moved in with us.  They’ll only be here a few months.  But our house is only 840 square feet.

Then on top of all that we are hoping to move next month!  But that’s a story for next time.  Right now I want to go take a nap.  And then I’ve got to get my stuff together because I’m going to a Corset-making Workshop this weekend!
Happy Sewing!

Mrs. Clark

About Imagine It's Finished

Howdy! I am a 50-something wife and mother with two daughters and two sons-in-law. And I love, love, love to sew. I quilt and especially like to hand piece. I prefer to hand quilt, too. Mr. Clark and I are Civil War reenactors, so I make all my own clothes, even my corset and hoops! We live in a small town in northern Arizona with our dog, two cats and eight chickens. I'm a little ADD with a touch of OCD and a rather addictive streak. Which means I start a project, but then I get distracted and start another project, and then get bored and start another project.... One day I realized that most of the blogs I read are by women who finish everything they start. But I suspect there are lots of women just like me. This is my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

