Broken Sewing Machine = Clean House

Have you ever seen the little sign that says:  “A clean house is the sign of a broken sewing machine”?  Well, my sweet little “Elizabeth” is in the shop getting a tune-up.  However, lest you jump to any conclusions, my house is not clean.  Nor will it be any time before she comes home.  But it does mean I actually have a little time to write today!  Please ignore the fact that my last post was months ago.  You’re a dear.  Bless your little pointed head.

So, a quickie synopsis of what’s been going on here at Imagine It’s Finished.

We did move and are now living in the same house as my parents.  (You may recall that Mom has Alzheimer’s.)  I repainted the entire inside prior to moving.  There are still about a gazillion, um, six-hundred, er, maybe one hundred boxes in the garage yet to be unpacked.  We’ve had a yard sale that didn’t get rid of enough stuff or make enough money.  Still debating on whether we will ever have enough energy to put on another one.   One thing I’ve learned.  I really hate moving.  Maybe it’s because I can’t just put things wherever suits me.  Maybe it’s because most of my belongings were packed over 6 years ago and some of what I thought was important then baffles me now.  In any case, we are progressing and getting settled little by little.

Storm, July 2013Do you like the picture at the top?  That’s the view from our front porch, looking north.  The hills to the right are where Williams is.  I don’t know how far that is as the crow flies, but it takes us about 45 minutes to get there.  On a clear day, which we have an overabundance of, looking further east (right), you could see the top of Mount Humphreys–which is Flagstaff.   Right now we are in the Monsoons.  Supposedly we should be getting a lot of rain.  Clouds and lightening, yes.  Rain, no.  It just goes all around us.  This picture is from a couple of weeks ago, looking southwest.  But it does cool everything down a little and we sure appreciate that.

In April, we all drove to Denver so Mom could visit her sister.  About 4 hours after we arrived, Dad was in the hospital.  Where he remained for the next eight days.  He had gall Dscn6379stones and ended up having surgery.  Our house-sitter needed to get back to her own home and Mr. C had to get back to work, so he flew home, leaving me alone to care for Mom and Dad.  We stayed with my uncle, who wasn’t much help.  So, my entire vacation was driving between Uncle’s, the VA hospital and Auntie in the nursing home.  I have to say, if it weren’t for my cousin, I wouldn’t have survived.  She was awesome!  We took Dad right from his hospital bed to the car and headed home.  That was the most dramatic health issue we’ve had, but not the only one, by any means.  I don’t want to jinx it, so you won’t hear me say that thankfully things have sort of quieted down lately.  Shhh!

Because of all the health issues, we did not get a garden planted this year.  But I did manage to sneak 12 new chicks into the garage when Mr. C wasn’t looking.  They are just now starting to lay eggs.  Sadly, two of the newbies are roosters.  I already have a rooster. Me and the girls have no use for three roosters.  My Dad asked me how you know a pullet from a hen?  He said, “when she loses her first foot-race”….if you know what I mean.  One of the new roosters about ran one of the hens ragged the other day.  I was cheering her on.  He finally got tired and gave up.  If we could somehow teach all teenage girls the same maneuvers!

DSCN6230

From a couple of months ago.

DSCN6231

Dixie and Jager were a big help.

I do have a nice sewing room now.  I have filled it up and tried to organize it, and clean it at least three times.  Last month I got a little angry about having all that fun stuff, but not being able to get to it and play with it.  So I spent the better part of a week cleaning.  Hung pictures and shelves and put up the TV.  I’m much happier now.  I have managed to finish a couple of projects.  I can hardly believe it!  I don’t have pictures of some of it.  I got to my pile of mending.  I had a large bag of vintage linens that needed ironing….done!  I made a stack of Microwave Bowl Covers…probably should take a picture of those.  Really cool.

Sewing  Cards by Valori Wells Designs

Sewing Cards by Valori Wells Designs

And prior to our local quilt store Shop Hop, I made several Cell Phone Wallets.  I got the pattern at the last quilt show.  It seemed like the perfect thing to use when I didn’t want to carry my rather large purse.  I’ve made several things from this company.  Anyway, I made one with leftover 30’s fabrics and one with some sweet florals.  But for the Shop Hop I wanted to take my “Civil War” tote bag made for a trip to Pennsylvania a few years ago.  So, it was rather important to make a Cell Phone Wallet to match.  The only problem was, I had pretty much used all my fabric to make the tote (which was an afterthought when several other items had been made).  I did a little digging in my stash and found something that would coordinate well enough.  I think it turned out nice.

Well, I guess that’s enough for now.  I’m hoping to get back to posting on this blog more regular-like now that it feels like my life is sort of more normal.

Happy Sewing!

Mrs. C

About Imagine It's Finished

Howdy! I am a 50-something wife and mother with two daughters and two sons-in-law. And I love, love, love to sew. I quilt and especially like to hand piece. I prefer to hand quilt, too. Mr. Clark and I are Civil War reenactors, so I make all my own clothes, even my corset and hoops! We live in a small town in northern Arizona with our dog, two cats and eight chickens. I'm a little ADD with a touch of OCD and a rather addictive streak. Which means I start a project, but then I get distracted and start another project, and then get bored and start another project.... One day I realized that most of the blogs I read are by women who finish everything they start. But I suspect there are lots of women just like me. This is my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

